England title two T20 squads for New Zealand tour

Nat Sciver-Brunt lifts her helmet and bat in celebration


Nat Sciver-Brunt made her England one-day international debut in 2013

England will be without Nat Sciver-Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Alice Capsey and Danni Wyatt for the first three T20 matches of their tour of New Zealand.

The quartet have been given permission to finish the Women’s Premier League (WPL) season in March before arriving.

Lauren Bell and captain Heather Knight have withdrawn from the WPL and are available for the entire series.

England women’s cricket director Jonathan Finch said the WPL players had his “full backing”.

The WPL, staged in India, runs from 23 February until 17 March, with the final scheduled just two days before the start of the first T20 in Dunedin, New Zealand.

WPL rules forbid mid-tournament replacements, meaning a decision on whether to withdraw must be made by players before the season opener on 23 February.

“The short window of just one or two days between the end of the WPL and the first T20 in New Zealand has meant we have needed to balance the…