IPL: Jonny Bairstow, Chris Woakes & Dawid Malan withdraw

England's Jonny Bairstow, Chris Woakes and Dawid Malan

Jonny Bairstow, Chris Woakes and Dawid Malan all featured in the home Test series against India

England’s Jonny Bairstow, Chris Woakes and Dawid Malan have withdrawn from the rescheduled Indian Premier League.

Postponed in May amid rising coronavirus cases in India, the IPL will resume in the United Arab Emirates on 19 September.

England’s Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer will also miss the completion of the Twenty20 tournament.

England limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan is among nine England players still scheduled to take part.

Bairstow, Woakes and Malan were in England’s squad for the fifth Test against India at Emirates Old Trafford which was cancelled on Friday.

Wicketkeeper Bairstow was due to play for Sunrisers Hyderabad, all-rounder Woakes had signed for Delhi Capitals and Malan – the world’s number one ranked Twenty20 batsman – was set to feature for Punjab Kings.

Buttler withdrew in August, Stokes is taking an indefinite break from cricket for his mental wellbeing, and…