Tyrone 2-14 Mayo 0-15: Scientific Crimson Arms see off wasteful Mayo whose 70-year All-Eire famine goes on

Ryan O'Donoghue holds his head in his hands after his penalty miss

Ryan O’Donoghue’s second-half penalty miss summed up another devastating All-Ireland Final experience for Mayo

Tyrone secured their fourth All-Ireland Football title as goals from Cathal McShane and Darren McCurry saw Mayo’s 70-year wait for Sam Maguire go on.

Ryan O’Donoghue’s penalty miss just after half-time was only one of four squandered Mayo goal chances.

That came after the Red Hands went in 0-10 to 0-8 at half-time.

In contrast, Tyrone clinically took their opportunities as McShane palmed home a long ball before Conor McKenna teed up Darren McCurry to net.

Substitute McShane’s goal came moments after his introduction and not long after O’Donoghue’s penalty miss – which had followed Tommy Conroy blazing wide another glorious three-pointer opportunity.

By the end, Mayo panic had long set in as poor decision-making and naive tactics only added to their misery of suffering an 11th All-Ireland defeat since their last triumph in 1951.

But for Tyrone there was only joy as their 2-14 to…